The B team lose in Cartagena (4-1)
The B team lose in Cartagena (4-1)

Ontiveros put the Mini Submarine aheado, but the home side turned the match around in the second half

Villarreal B were beaten 4-1 in the vital match at Cartagonova. Ontiveros, from the penalty spot, gave Miguel Álvarez’s side the lead, but a very good second half from Cartagena triggered the home side’s scoring spree with goals from Ortuño, Narváez and Alarcón, as well as an own goal.

Both teams needed to win to get out of the relegation zone and, for the home side in particular, the game was a real final. The Mini Submarine started dominating and were better positioned on the pitch. Pablo Iñiguez had the first chance, but failed to connect with his shot in the six-yard box on the quarter of an hour mark.

Jorge Pascual, in a great individual move, also came very close to scoring the first, but the Yellows ended up taking the lead thanks to Ontiveros, who made no mistake from the penalty spot. The game went into half-time with the Mini Submarine ahead.

The away side came out just as lively in the second half looking to extend their lead. However, also from the penalty spot, Ortuño equalised for Cartagena after just eleven minutes and the Cartagonova crowd went wild.

Bad luck was to befall the B team, who conceded two more goals in quick succession when they were competing head to head. Alberto del Moral scored an own goal after failing to avoid the rebound from a set-piece and Narváez, on the counter-attack with Miguel Álvarez’s side up front, scored the third. With less than ten minutes remaining, Efesé rounded off the victory with a fourth goal, scored by Alarcón.

The Mini Submarine’s next match will take place next Saturday at 6:30pm CET at the Stafe Front Stadium against Espanyol.


FC Cartagena: Marc Martínez; I. Calero, Alcalá, Gonzalo Verdú, Jairo; Alarcón (m. 86, Jony Álamo), Musto, Andy (m. 86, Cellou); Luis Muñoz (m. 32, Narváez), Ortuño (m. 74, Lautaro) Y., Ayllón (m. 74, Mikel Rico).

Villarreal B: Iker Álvarez; Lanchi, Lekovic (m. 76, Espigares), P. Iñiguez, Tasende; Rodrigo (m. 76, D. Collado), A. del Moral, Carlo (m. 84, Requena), Ontiveros; A. Forés, J. Pascual (m. 84, A. Ferrari).

Goals: 0-1. Min. 38: Ontiveros. 1-1. Min. 57: Ortuño Y.. 2-1. Min. 70: A. del Moral (OG). 3-1. Min. 73: Narvaez. 4-1. Min. 83: Alarcón.

Referee: Ávalos Barrera. Booked:Marc Martínez, Alarcón (FC Cartagena); Ontiveros, Rodrigo. (Villarreal B)

Matchday information: Game between FC Cartagena and Villarreal B, corresponding to Matchday 22 of the 2023/24 LALIGA Hypermotion season, at Cartagonova.