Placeholder canvas
The passion of LaLiga Genuine is back!
The passion of LaLiga Genuine is back!

The Yellows’ intellectually-disabled team (EDI) will take part in the third edition of the competition, which will have six bases and 36 teams

The third edition of LaLiga Genuine is here! Villarreal’s intellectually-disabled team (EDI) are once more taking part in the most socially responsible, integrative and pioneering competition in the world. Organised by LaLiga, through their Foundation, LaLiga Genuine will have 36 teams this season – six more than in 2018 – and six new bases.

This weekend in Tarragona (16th to 17th November) the first phase of the tournament will take place, with the final phase at Athletic Club’s Training Ground (29th, 30th and 31st May). The hosts of the second stage will be Sevilla FC (31st January and 1st and 2nd February) and Real Betis Balompié (28th and 29th February and 1st March). UD Las Palmas will host the third phase (27th, 28th, 29th March), alongside Sporting Gijón (24th, 25th, 26th April).

In the first stage, the Yellow Submarine will face three teams during the weekend: hosts Gimnàstic de Tarragona, debutants Real Betis Balompié and finally Sporting Gijón.

The schedule for the Submarine’s matches is the following:

  • Saturday 16th November, 10am CET, Gimnàstic de Tarragona vs Villarreal.
  • Saturday 16th November, 5pm CET, Villarreal vs Real Betis.
  • Sunday 17th November, , 12pm, Villarreal vs Sporting Gijón.

As well as Villarreal CF there are a number of other Spanish teams taking part. They are: Deportivo Alavés, Albacete Balompié, UD Almería, Athletic Club, Atlético Madrid, RC Celta Vigo, Córdoba CF, RC Deportivo La Coruña, SD Eibar, RCD Espanyol, Girona FC, SD Huesca, UD Las Palmas, CD Leganés, UD Levante, CD Lugo, Málaga CF, RCD Mallorca, Club Gimnàstic de Tarragona, Club Atlético Osasuna, Real Oviedo, Real Sociedad, Rayo Vallecano, Reus Deportiu, Sevilla FC, Real Sporting Gijón, Valencia CF, Real Valladolid, Real Zaragoza and debutants Real Betis Balompié, Cádiz CF, CD Tenerife, Elche CF, Granada CF and Getafe CF.

The Villarreal squad for the first round of fixtures is the following: Javier Ruiz, Marcos Peris, Abraham Martímez, Mireia Rodríguez, Eric Villegas, Alberto Gómez, David Velasco, Eduard Stanciu, Miguel Ángel Archela, Andrés Sánchez-Cid, José Manuel Vicent, Ricardo Escribano, Jessica Barquier, Fernando Pinedo, Juan Miguel Meseguer and Francisco José Navarro.

Competition rules

The competition is played as an eight-a-side tournament, in matches with four quarters, each lasting ten minutes. The season is divided in four phases, which take part in six bases. There are a total of 36 teams.

LaLiga Genuine doesn’t only count the sporting results, but also the positive sporting actions shown during the match. Each matchday, teams will get points rewarding sporting behaviour, and fair play from players, fans and coaches.

It’s about sharing before taking part.