Defeat for Villarreal B (0-1)
Defeat for Villarreal B (0-1)

Miguel Álvarez’s side lose by the narrowest of margins against Alcoyano at the Mini Estadi

Villarreal B have lost at the Mini Estadi against CD Alcoyano (0-1) in an even match where a single goal ended up deciding the game against the Mini Submarine, despite them deserving to come away with at least a point. Jona’s goal, just after the hour mark, was enough for the away side to get the win.

The match started with both teams pressing high, looking to not give anything away from the first minute. A low Dani Tasende cross went across the goalline, and a Juan Carlos Arana volley, after a lovely Álex Forés header, were the best chances of the first half. Miguel Álvarez’s side were creating a lot of danger in the final third, but they were unable to find the final ball after a number of good moves.

At the start of the second half, Fores had the first good chances, with a shot from the edge of the area, which was saved well by Alcoyano goalkeeper José Juan. Carlo Adriano had a similar chance, but his shot was not powerful enough to surprise the opposition goalkeeper. Ahn also had the opportunity to open the scoring, but his header went wide. There was constant pressure from the Yellows, but Alcoyano went ahead thanks to a Jona goal when the Mini Submarine was on top.

Villarreal B continued giving their all until the closing stages of the game. Iker Goujón, who came on in the second half, caused the opposition problems in defence, trying to create chances for Diego Collado, who replaced Forés. In the last minute of normal time, Arana was brought down in the box, but the referee decided it was not a penalty. Villarreal B were unable to get a point for the second week in a row, but are still top of their Primera RFEF group.

Next up for Villarreal B is an away game to Linares Deportivo on Saturday 13th November at 5pm CET at the Estadio de Linarejos.


Villarreal B: Jorgensen; M.A. Leal, Dela, P. Íñiguez, Tasende (m. 83, Goyo Medina); Ahn (m. 69, Iker Goujón), Del Moral (m. 83, Ramón Bueno), Carlo Adriano, Pacheco (m. 69, Nikita); A. Forés (m. 69, Collado), Arana.

CD Alcoyano: José Juan; Lillo, Primi, Carlos Blanco, Pablo Carbonell; Andy (m. 74, Imanol), Fran Miranda, Juanan (m. 74, Juli), Toni Abad (m. 62, Antón); Jona (m. 74, Ángel Sánchez), Mourad.

Goals: 0-1. Min 66: Jona.

Referee: David López Jiménez. Booked: Mourad, Fran Miranda (CD Alcoyano).

Stadium: Mini Estadi.