U19s, Dallas Cup runners-up
U19s, Dallas Cup runners-up


Miguel Ángel Tena’s side lost in the penalty shootout after a tight final against Tigres (1-1)

The U19s (Juvenil A) were named Dallas Cup runners-up, after losing a penalty shootout in a tight final against Tigres UANL (1-1). The Yellows, who were brilliant throughout the tournament, we not able to return home as champions in their first participation in this prestigious competition.

Villarreal went ahead on the scoreboard thanks to a fantastic Diego Collado strike, which thanks to a magnificent piece of individual play, surprised the Mexican side before the break. With just ten minutes left, Tigres drew level, through Enrique Prieto. The game went to extra-time, where the Yellows could have gone ahead with three good chances. It was not to be though, and went down to spot-kicks, where Tigres came out victorious.

After the penalty shootout defeat to Tigres (1-1), the U19s finish their Dallas Cup ’19 participation, which they got victories against  FC Dallas (2-1), Red Bull Brasil (4-1), Querétaro FC (2-1) and New York City (3-2).

Miguel Ángel Tena took 20 players to Dallas for the competition. The squad was made up of the following players: Filip Jorgensen, Javier Cendón, Miguel Operé, Vadik Murria, Izan Morcillo, Dani Pereiro, Gonzaga Delage, Rodrigo Robles, Javi Comeras, José Luis Blanco, Alejandro René, Borja Marzá, Álvaro Santos, Dani Tasende, Jorge Galdón, Álex Baena, Fer Niño, Carlo Adriano, Diego Collado and Iván Morante.


The Dallas Cup is a tournament of massive proportions which celebrated its 40th edition. There are a total of ten different competitions within the same tournament. A total of 248 different teams took part in the Dallas Cup, divided in the following categories: U12s, U13s, U14s, Univisión Deportes Super U14s, U15s, U16s, U17s, U18s, U19s and U19s Gordon Jago Super Group.

The matches took place in impressive facilities. There were a total of four stadiums: Toyota Stadium, Cotton Bowl Stadium, MoneyGram Soccer Park (named ‘Pitch of the Year’ by Sports Turf magazine) and Richland College.

Five ‘groguets’ have already taken part in the tournament

It was the first time a team from Villarreal CF will take part in the tournament, although a number of players with a past or present linking them to the Yellows were previously involved. That includes Ramiro Funes Mori, who played in the 2008 edition, Mexican brothers Giovani and Jonathan dos Santos (2001), American forward Jozy Altidore (2004) and the Submarine’s all-time top LaLiga scorer, Giuseppe Rossi (2006).

Fifth Spanish club to take part in the Dallas Cup

Villarreal were the fifth Spanish club to take part in this prestigious tournament. Real Madrid last took part in 2006, FC Barcelona in 2011, Valencia CF in 2015 and Real Oviedo in 2018. Real Madrid won the tournament in 1993 and 1994.

Dallas Cup is the oldest and most prestigious youth football tournament in the US. With groups from U12s to U19s, the Dallas Cup averages more than 100,000 spectators throughout the tournament week. After its start in 1980, the Dallas Cup has hosted teams and referees from 47 states, six continents and over 100 countries. Villarreal have become part of this prestigious tournament’s history.