LaLiga Genuine is back!
LaLiga Genuine is back!


The third stage of the tournament will take place from 5th to 7th April at the Rayo Vallecano Training Ground

Villarreal’s intellectually-disabled team (EDI), will compete in the third phase of LaLiga Genuine, the most socially responsible, integrative and pioneering competition. The first two stages this season have already taken place, in Tarragona and Córdoba. This cutting-edge event tries to bring everyone with intellectual disabilities in the football world together, with the aim of making this practice normal and extending it beyond the competition.

The matches, which will take place this weekend (from 5th to 7th April) at Rayo Vallecano’s training ground, are made up of four quarters, each ten minutes long. CD Lugo (Saturday, 12pm CEST), Girona (Saturday, 7pm CEST) and Fundación Celta Integra (Sunday, 10am CEST) will be the opponents for the Yellow Submarine in this stage of the tournament. On Friday afternoon, Javier Tebas, LaLiga president, and Raúl Martín Presa, Rayo Vallecano president, will welcome the players and give them a participation plaque.

Currently, the Yellows are fifth in the Sporting Group table, out of 16 of the 30 teams that make up LaLiga Genuine. The other 14 sides are in the the Companionship Group. However, it should be noted that in this tournament, points are also given for sporting behaviour and fair play. After the third stage, there will still be two more phases: in Madrid (26th to 28th April) and Valencia (14th to 16th June).

As well as Villarreal CF, LaLiga Genuine sees the following teams take part this season: Deportivo Alavés, Albacete Balompié, UD Almería, Athletic Club, Atlético Madrid, RC Celta Vigo, Córdoba CF, RC Deportivo La Coruña, SD Eibar, RCD Espanyol, Girona FC, SD Huesca, UD Las Palmas, CD Leganés, UD Levante, CD Lugo, Málaga CF, RCD Mallorca, Club Gimnàstic Tarragona, Club Atlético Osasuna, Real Oviedo, Real Sociedad, Rayo Vallecano, Reus Deportiu, Sevilla FC, Real Sporting Gijón, Valencia CF, Real Valladolid and Real Zaragoza.

The Villarreal CF players who will take part are: Daniel Ortiz, Nerea Gil, David Velasco, Eric Villegas, Oriol Mezquita, Juan Ramón Lara, Sergio Rodríguez, Eduardo Hernández, Víctor, Boulouden, Víctor Parraga, Abraham Martínez, Eduard Stanciu, Miguel Ángel Archela, Javier Ruiz, David Pliego y José Manuel Vicent. The coaching staff will be made up of: Natalia Miró, Ana Roig, Sergi Campos and Sonia Alcón. To check the LaLiga Genuine schedule, the results and the table, you can visit the official website: LALIGA GENUINE.