Villarreal U19s (Juvenil A) beat Lorca and win the División de Honor Group 7

Campeones, campeones, oe, oe, oe! Villarreal U19s have been crowned División de Honor Group 7 champions after beating Lorca in the last match of the normal league season (1-3). The Yellows put in a complete performance and took three points home thanks to goals from Vadik Murria, Alejandro Baena and Juan Carlos Arana.

Villarreal U19s went ahead through a great Vadik header from a corner (m.7), but Lorca drew level after an own goal from Dani Tasende (m.31). The tie was all-square for only a few minutes, before Baena’s golazo, which made it 1-2, entering in the angle of post and bar (m.35). The second half saw the definitive 1-3 goal come, thanks to a lob from Arana (m.63).

The U19s, managed by Miguel Ángel Tena, have had a spectacular season, with 68 points from 30 league matches (21 wins, five draws and four defeats). The title was not decided until the last match, given that their main rivals, Levante UD, also put in a great end to the season with 13 wins in a row.

The Yellows were the team with the most goals in the league (81), and conceded the second fewest in their division too (23). In the attacking front, Arana (18 goals), Fernando Niño (15) and Diego Collado (13) all stand out.

Eighth División de Honor title

This is the eighth time Villarreal U19s have been named División de Honor champions. With Javi Calleja on the bench, they managed it in the 2014/15, 2015/16 and 2016/17 seasons. Last season, Atlético Madrileño were the winners. Villarreal is the team with most title wins in the División de Honor Group 7 with eight, followed by Valencia CF, with four.

Let’s go for the Copa de Campeones and the Copa del Rey

Thanks to this title, Villarreal U19s will take part in the Copa de Campeones, which will take place from 5th to 11th May. Then, they will take part in the U19 Copa del Rey, which will start on the weekend of 19th May.


Lorca CFB U19s: Cristóbal; Juan Durán, Farru, Antonio Sánchez, Eric (Andrés, m. 46), Pablo Serrano (Julio, m. 66), Dani Bermejo (Cristian, m. 52), Xavi Pons, Casas, Paco Miñarro (Salva, m. 88), Vicente Meca.

Villarreal CF U19s: Filip; Binu (Galdón, m. 46), Vadik, Pereiro, Dani Tasende; Morante, Carlo Adriano, Baena (Jose, m. 92); Collado (John, m. 86), Arana (Rodri, m. 75), Fer Niño.

Goals: 0-1. Min. 7: Vadik. 1-1. Min. 31: Dani Tasende, OG. 1-2. Min. 35: Baena. 1-3. Min. 63: Arana.

Referee: José Antonio Sánchez Villalobos. Booked: Antonio, Pablo Serrano, Casas (Lorca); Binu (Villarreal).