A tournament full of laughter and team values
A tournament full of laughter and team values

Villarreal’s intellectually-disabled team shone this weekend in the third LaLiga Genuine phase at Vallecas

Pure excitement. Villarreal’s intellectually-disabled team (EDI) had a successful and exciting experience at Vallecas, where the third stage of LaLiga Genuine this season in the presence of illustrious guests, such as former Spain manager Vicente del Bosque, LaLiga president Javier Tebas and Rayo Vallecano president Raúl Martín Presa.

This weekend, the Yellows were able to enjoy being once more involved in the world’s most socially responsible, integrative and pioneering competition. An event that tries to bring together everyone with intellectual disabilities in the football world. The Yellows’ EDI will take part in the next LaLiga Genuine stage in Valencia (14th-16th June).

LaLiga Genuine doesn’t only count the sporting results, but also the positive sporting actions shown during the match. Each matchday, teams will get points rewarding sporting behaviour, and fair play from players, fans and coaches.

Not even rain could take the shine off the day. The Yellows put in a great performance, beating CD Lugo on Saturday (2-1), and drawing 2-2 against Girona FC. On Sunday, the Yellows lost to Celta Integra (2-1). But the most important thing was not the results, but the team spirit and the great atmosphere. We could see players dancing and singing in the dressing room, keeping spirits up between team-mates and even opposition players once the games were over. A different sort of tournament.

Aside from Villarreal CF, LaLiga Genuine has 29 other teams involved, divided in two groups (Companionship and Sportsmanship). An example to follow.


1 Daniel Ortiz Montesinos

2 Nerea Gil Peláez

5 David Velasco Álvarez

7 Eric Villegas Parra

8 Oriol Mezquita Monfort

9 Juan Ramón Lara Jiménez

10 Sergio Rodríguez Aliaga

11 Eduardo Hernández Hernández

13 Victor Boulouden Luna

14 Víctor Parraga Plaza

15 Abraham Martínez Pinedo

17 Eduard-Gabriel Stanciu

18 Miguel Ángel Archela Barrachina

19 Javier Ruiz Soria

21 David Pliego García

22 José Manuel Vicent Edo


Natalia Miró Marzá

Ana Roig Pallarés

Sergi Campos Monfort

Sonia Alcón Capayo