PHOTO: Baena scored Villarreal U19s' third.

Dallas Cup finalists!

20 / 04 / 2019

The U19s beat New York City 3-2 and will face Tigres UANL in the final (Sunday, 10pm CEST)

Onto the final! Villarreal U19s (Juvenil A) beat New York City 3-2 and earned a place in the Dallas Cup final. Miguel Ángel Tena's side beat NYCFC by the smallest of margins after a great performance, which saw a Diego Collado brace and an Álex Baena goal, to confirm their place in the final against Mexican side Tigres, which will take place on Sunday at 10pm Spanish time. The match will be shown live on Univisión.

After their latest win, the U19s added to their impeccable group stage, where they got three wins from three, against FC Dallas (2-1), Red Bull Brasil (4-1) and Querétaro FC (2-1).

Miguel Ángel Tena has taken 20 players to Dallas for the competition. The squad is made up of the following players: Filip Jorgensen, Javier Cendón, Miguel Operé, Vadik Murria, Izan Morcillo, Dani Pereiro, Gonzaga Delage, Rodrigo Robles, Javi Comeras, José Luis Blanco, Alejandro René, Borja Marzá, Álvaro Santos, Dani Tasende, Jorge Galdón, Álex Baena, Fer Niño, Carlo Adriano, Diego Collado and Iván Morante.

The Dallas Cup is a tournament of massive proportions which is celebrating its 40th edition. There are a total of ten different competitions within the same tournament. A total of 248 different teams will take part in the Dallas Cup, divided in the following categories: U12s, U13s, U14s, Univisión Deportes Super U14s, U15s, U16s, U17s, U18s, U19s and U19s Gordon Jago Super Group.

The matches will take place in impressive facilities. There are a total of four stadiums: Toyota Stadium, Cotton Bowl Stadium, MoneyGram Soccer Park (named ‘Pitch of the Year’ by Sports Turf magazine) and Richland College.

Five ‘groguets’ have already taken part in the tournament

It will be the first time a team from Villarreal CF will take part in the tournament, although a number of players with a past or present linking them to the Yellows have already been involved. That includes Ramiro Funes Mori, who played in the 2008 edition, Mexican brothers Giovani and Jonathan dos Santos (2001), American forward Jozy Altidore (2004) and the Submarine's all-time top LaLiga scorer, Giuseppe Rossi (2006).

Fifth Spanish club to take part in the Dallas Cup

Villarreal are the fifth Spanish club to take part in this prestigious tournament. Real Madrid last took part in 2006, FC Barcelona in 2011, Valencia CF in 2015 and Real Oviedo in 2018. Real Madrid won the tournament in 1993 and 1994.

Dallas Cup is the oldest and most prestigious youth football tournament in the US. With groups from U12s to U19s, the Dallas Cup averages more than 100,000 spectators throughout the tournament week. After its start in 1980, the Dallas Cup has hosted teams and referees from 47 states, six continents and over 100 countries. Villarreal have become part of this prestigious tournament's history. An exciting challenge for the Yellows Academy.

Related news



Utilizamos cookies propias y de terceros para ofrecerte una experiencia más personalizada y un mejor servicio de la web, así como para recabar datos estadísticos y de navegación de nuestros visitantes. Si continuas navegando, consientes la instalación de nuestras cookies en tu ordenador. Más información en nuestra Política de cookies. Acepto las cookies de este sitio. Acepto